“Do Not Touch” Explosives Awareness Coloring Book for Children Available for Immediate Domestic Use

April 16, 2013

"Do Not Touch Me" Cover

“Do Not Touch Me” Cover

Though not a part of the Surviving Terrorism series and woefully inadequate for domestic purposes, I will be offering my charity’s “Do Not Touch” landmine/ERW, and IED-awareness coloring book for immediate use by children here in the United States.  This publication was created specifically for Afghan children, but will at least help our little ones begin to think about identifying and avoiding explosive dangers.

Sarah, my wife, and I created our “Do Not Touch” coloring book to be used as a simple teaching aid to keep children in current and former war zones safe from landmines and other explosive remnants of war (ERWs).  Included are some examples of IEDs, which is definitely applicable to domestic concerns.  What is not adequately addressed are situation-awareness issues.  I have and shall continue to work with the Mine Action Coordination Center for Afghanistan (MACCA), Tabish, Colin King, and UNICEF’s Landmines and Small Arms team, as well as the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) and several other NGOs, to correct this lack of information in a second edition.  To address immediate domestic concerns, however, I will be adding  information to the current edition in order to better inform our children about explosive threats.

I’ll be spending most of today converting text into English and adding a few examples of domestically-relevant situations to avoid.  Our “Do Not Touch” coloring book will be sent free of charge via email (PDF format) to anyone upon request.  I hope this will help protect our children from future acts of terror.  Please email me at trinity.oak@prodigy.net to expedite dispatch.

More can be read about my charity, The Fishermen, at the following addresses:  www.thefishermenrelief.org; WorldOrphanRelief.Wordpress.com.

Leave a comment